short ram or cold air??

Discussion in '8G Lancer - Performance' started by 09lancermatt153, Dec 19, 2008.

1. 09lancermatt153

09lancermatt153 Well-Known Member

hey guys im wanting to get an intake for my car . i was leaning to get the injen cold air. i live in chicago and we get alot of snow (like today we got like 5 inches with rain and sleet so it made the streets a big slushy) and im worried that the cold air will get water in it even with the hydro shield. my question is should i get a short ram or a cold air do you think all the snow and rain will it will hurt the cold air?? thanks matt

2. Prophet

Prophet Well-Known Member

Water in the motor is a very bad thing... it will take less then a teaspoon to blow your motor...

On the other hand on my 8G Galant I have been running a CAI all year for about five years now and no problems during the raining season. It will take alot to suck up water into your motor and your CAI will have to be at least 75% submerged in a puddle of water.

3. LuvMyLancer

LuvMyLancer Well-Known Member

I live in Canada and have the SRI but I know people who have the CAI with no problems. Others simply just take theirs off for the winter.

4. Prophet

Here in this picture you can see where mine sits...

[​IMG]

5. 09lancermatt153

09lancermatt153 Well-Known Member

bump bump bumpity bump

6. jacob1bc

jacob1bc Well-Known Member

jason did you get a new bumper?

7. Prophet

Naw Travis... that picture was taken years ago...

8. dive_junkie

dive_junkie Well-Known Member

So here's an easy one. I live in Texas. A lot of hot air. So which one should I go with and where can I get it. I am having a heck of a time finding one for mine. I have an 08 GTS. Where can I get my hands on this?

9. jacob1bc

jacob1bc Well-Known Member

well it's up to you. but our vendors sell them. RRM has the SRI and AEM CAI and speed corp has the Injen CAI and K&N SRI. the choice is yours

10. dive_junkie

dive_junkie Well-Known Member